Our Solutions

Kinops offers three contact support technologies developed for different applications, all aiming at the goal of improving comfort.

Our solutions use hyperelastic materials to ensure the best comfort with proven durability. The performance of our support surfaces is also highly dependent on the integration of their subcomponents.

NUBATM Technology


Top view 3D reconstruction of a NUBATM mattress. The hyperelastic silicone protuberances cover the HR foam hollow cubes that form a 17 zones mattress which can be tuned for balancing body segments.

The NUBATM technology was developped to minimize pressure points and shear stresses on human soft tissues and joints.  This technology was successfully applied to hospital pressure reduction mattresses and has been commercialized in Québec by Les Équipements Médicaux Leika Ltée (Brossard, Qc, Canada) for medical applications and by Au Lit (Canada) for residential usage.

 

Perspective view of of contact pressure map of a human subject resting on a NUBATM mattress. Mattress deformations are also illustrated. As expected from design requirements, the mattress allows for higher deformations under the scapula and the sacruum. A zero contact pressure is indicated by a dark blue area while green sections represent higher contact pressure.

The NUBATM surface consists of hollow cubes aligned in specific configurations to meet the intended application requirements.  A top layer of hyperelastic silicone protuberances covers the cubes to allow for temperature and shear stress control, thereby avoiding the “hammock” effect.   The result; 70% of the contact area is at near zero contact pressure.

   

Hollow cubes, compared to plain cubes, better distribute contact pressure when an object comes into contact with the mattress. The two above video clips clearly demonstrate this unique NUBATM capacity. When the object sets into the mattress, contact pressure increases in both situations (blue: minimum pressure; red: maximum pressure) but the distribution is far more uniform for the hollow cube design and the maximum pressure reached is lower, thereby reducing unwanted shear stresses on the skin and on soft tissues (notice that the red color scales is adjusted to the maximal pressure encountered for each respective situations).

NUBATM surfaces provides better temperature control when the body contacts the surface since air circulates around the silicone protuberances.

    description

Air can easily circulates around the silicone protuberances in a NUBATM surface, thereby avoiding temperature increase that is commonly feeled when using foam surfaces.

NUBA technology is unique and can be used in mattress, cushion, and seat applications.  The flexibility and manufacturing process make this technology ideal for custom product applications.

Kinflex Technology

Traditionally, various layers of materials or springs were added to mattresses resulting in variable and unpredictable stress distribution.  Kinops has developed an innovative solution that separates each layer in the mattress into specific functions.  For example, Kinflex technology used in home mattresses allows for sleeping comfort optimization in two different positions. Kinflex technology has been used in commercial home mattresses and is marketed as Umana brand mattresses in Canada.

 

bioS Technology

bioS Technology was developed to combine comfort and durability. Composed of 100% silicone (in the form of silicone foam and hyperelastic silicone protuberances), this high-end technology was developed to minimize thickness of the support surface without compromising durabililty, performance or comfort. It is ideal for applications where space is critical.  BioS is commercialized by Kinops Inc in add-on seating cushions.

Nos solutions

Kinops offre présentement trois technologies de surfaces de support qui visent des marchés qui nécessitent tous du confort accru, mais selon des objectifs différents:

Nos solutions utilisent des matériaux hyperélastiques afin d'assurer un meilleur confort sans sacrifier la durabilité. La performance des surfaces est aussi intimement reliée à l'assemblage des composants.

Technologie NUBATM


Vue supérieure du matelas NUBATM, reconstruit par modélisation numérique 3D. Des éminences de silicone hyperélastique sont superposées sur des cubes de mousse HR évidés, constituant un matelas à 17 zones qui peuvent être ajustées pour équilibrer tous les segments corporels.

La technologie NUBATM a été développée afin de minimiser les points de pression et les contraintes de surfaces qui induisent du cisaillement dans les tissus. Cette technologie est utilisée avec succès pour la fabrication de matelas réducteurs de pression. La technologie est commercialisée au Québec chez Les Équipements Médicaux Leika Ltée (Brossard, Qc, Canada) dans le domaine biomédical et chez Au Lit (Canada) dans le domaine résidentiel.

Vue en perspective de la distribution de pression de contact d'un sujet humain couché sur le matelas NUBA. Les déformations résultantes du matelas sont aussi illustrées. Tel que conçu, le matelas permet une plus grande déformation sous les omoplates et le sacrum. Le bleu foncé représente une pression nulle tandis que le vert représente des régions à pression de contact plus élevées.

La surface NUBATM est composée de rangées de cubes évidés selon des dimensions spécifiques à l'application. Une surface d'éminences en silicone hyperélastique recouvre les cubes pour contrôler la température d'interface et les contraintes de cisaillement en éliminant l'effet hamac. Près de 70% de la surface de contact est à pression de contact nulle.

   

Les cubes évidés, comparés à des cubes pleins, permettent de mieux distribuer la pression de contact lorsqu'un objet cale dans le matelas. Les deux vidéos ci-dessus démontrent bien cette propriété de la surface NUBATM. À mesure que l'objet cale dans le matelas, la pression de contact augmente (bleu: pression minimale; rouge: pression maximale) dans les deux cas, mais la distribution est beaucoup plus uniforme pour le cube évidé et le niveau de pression maximal est aussi plus faible, minimisant ainsi les problématiques de cisaillement sur la peau et dans les tissus (prendre note que le rouge est ajusté à la pression maximale obtenue pour chacun des tests).

La surface NUBATM permet aussi un meilleur contrôle de la température de contact avec le corps, car la couche d'éminences en silicone permet à l'air de circuler librement. 

    description

La surface NUBATM permet à l'air de circuler librement et, ainsi, d'éviter l'augmentation de température qui est ressentie avec les surfaces de support en mousse.

La technologie NUBATM est unique au niveau international et peut être utilisée dans différentes applications dont les matelas, les coussins et les sièges. La technologie est aussi avantageuse pour créer des matelas sur mesure.

Technologie Kinflex

La superposition de différentes couches de matériaux ou de ressorts amène des propriétés de confort variées. Kinops innove dans ce domaine en faisant en sorte que chaque couche ait sa fonction particulière. Elle est présentement commercialisée sous la marque Umana par les boutiques Au Lit, pour les matelas résidentiels.

 

Technologie bioS

La technologie bioS a été élaborée pour joindre confort et durabilité. Composée de silicone à 100%, la technologie fait appel à des mousses de silicone recouvertes d'éminences de silicone hyperélastique. Ce produit haut de gamme permet de minimiser la hauteur des surfaces de support sans perdre de performance de confort. La technologie peut s'appliquer dans de multiples domaines où le volume du coussinage est critique. Elle est présentement commercialisée pour des coussins d'appoint vendus par Kinops inc.